My idea of heaven...

"Forged by fire and ice, the Langdales are dramatic to say the least. Home to the majestic Langdale Pikes, world class rock climbing and stunning mountain tarns, this is a natural playground, with walks and activities to suit all abilities...

Sticklebarn pub sits at the heart of all this and with crackling fires, real ales and Lakeland food, there's no better place to unwind after a day of adventure on the fells. It’s the only pub run by the National Trust – we want to ensure that every penny we make goes back into looking after Langdale." National Trust


This has to be my favourite pub in the country and probably my favourite place. I've stayed here twice before and would have stayed again this time if I could have. So after a rather chilly day cruising on Lake Windermere, and then visiting Wordsworth's home in Grasmere, what better way to end the day and my trip to the Lakes than by heading up the Great Langdale valley to the Sticklebarn pub (on the left of the photo) to sit by a roaring fire with a warming mug of Gluhwein. Heaven...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.