True Grit

Girlie expat breakfast is always a great way to start a week, but today the Brits were outnumbered (my fault, I found a stray and took pity).

I don't know how the subject veered from Eurovision and camel toes to breakfast foods via polenta (although I'm tempted to lay the blame on the Texan) but suddenly George Bernard Shaw's famous words* had never seemed more apt. Why aren't grits gritty? And how (or indeed why) would one eat biscuits with gravy, I want mine with a hot cuppa for dunking thank you very much...

We have managed to wangle ourselves a breakfast invite out of the discussion however (no pressure M, but we do know where you live!) although whether we'll be won over by grits remains to be seen.

* England and America are two countries separated by a common language

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.