Onesmallplanet

By Onesmallplanet

Chocolates of Vermont

This is the result of the fruits of my labour yesterday. I had to trek all the way to the Royal Mail depot in order to pick up a Christmas present ( Inland revenue had seen fit to charge me tax for a present!!!! since when is it fair to have to pay in order to get a gift!!!!) Anyhow I took the bus all the way there only to find out that they only accepted cash. I then took the bus back to the nearest cash machine (at least a 15 minute walk away) Since it was a pleasant day I decided to walk back to the depot and took a little detour to have a look at the Craigentinny Marbles * (my photo yesterday)
Finally I had my present in hand and was ready to head home. It wasn't until I had finished running errands at the supermarket and gotten on my final bus of the day that I realized...I had left my favorite hat and suede gloves somewhere along the way...disaster!!! If anyone out there has had the frustration of trying to contact Lothian buses lost and found I sympathise! It was still lovely to get belated gifts from my brother and his wife for K and I, the chocolates were delicious and as described were made by a company in Vermont. I especially liked the one with maple inside!
* I didn't complete a blurb about the Mausoleum as I managed to delete the whole thing by accident and only posted the picture out of frustration. It is the grave of William Henry Miller a prosperous landowner and designed in the style of a tomb on the Appian way in Rome. It is certainly a strange sight to behold squeezed as it is between some bungalows but strikingly beautiful. I especially love the relief sculptures on the side depicting scenes from the bible, the one in the photo I took is The overthrow of the Pharaoh in the Red Sea"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.