Dad

Today my Dad would have been 95, but he was carried off by an illness similar to Motor Neurone 20 years ago.

I'm not happy with this effort of mine some years ago to paint him in acrylics - so much is wrong it is embarrassing, but the one thing I do like is that I think I captured his twinkle. I also like that he's got his bunnet and old work clothes on and that he's enjoying a laugh with his nip of Grouse. Although not much of a drinker he enjoyed a glass in celebration. (Scotland winning the Triple crown - yes it did happen - in John Jefferies time might have warranted more than one). The photo on the left was taken when he and his blacksmith friend finally got the old traction engine they'd restored steamed up and road-worthy.

Thanks for everything Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.