Hillview Photography

By Nikki23Kerr

A mixed emotion day

Today I went with Arkensiel photography to say good bye to an old friend Auntie Doreen who dies in February. We left mid morning and had a lovely lunch in a lovely hotel near to where the funeral was being held.

It was a strange day other than snowing, hailing, rain, wind and sun on the 60 mile drive it felt very strange to be going back to where I used to live. Mum and I attended the funeral which as funerals often are was quite sad but the piece the family had written to be read out during the service was spot on for her.

Afterwards I wanted to see my Grandad and Nans gravestone, I was so close it would have been wrong not to stop in. Whilst there I saw an old friend I went to primary school with, which was unexpected but nice.

Then I wanted to see a couple of old houses and my old school, but then I was ready to come back home. It was nice to go back but I would not want to live there again.

It was nice to spend the day with Mum though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.