Inverculain

By Inverculain

The not-so-friendly skies

In the end, my flight from Heathrow yesterday was delayed by 5 hrs. Then when we arrived in Toronto, a combination of a technical problem and local airport regulations meant we couldn't disembark for 45 mins. I made my rescheduled connection, and finally got to my hotel in Kingston (Ontario - not Jamaica, sadly!) about half past midnight.

I was up for a breakfast meeting at 6.30, then, after an all-day meeting, one of my colleagues, who was driving back to Toronto, dropped four of us at Kingston airport. Within a few minutes we'd found that our flight was delayed, and very likely to be cancelled. So we called our colleague who kindly drove back and picked us up. He took us to Toronto - a 2 hr drive that, in today's abysmal conditions, took twice that -  and I'm now at the airport, hoping to board my only-slightly-delayed flight (hey, what's 30 mins?!) and head home.

This was the only shot I had the chance to take today, through the car window as we drove away from Kingston airport in heavy snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.