My Angle

By myangle

Team Vodafone

It isn't often that a V8 Supercar team open their doors to the public. That was exactly what Team Vodafone did this morning by having a garage sale. Not an ordinary garage sale mind you, a team merchandise/assorted broken spares garage sale. Jo and I had to queue for 20 minutes or so to actually get in, not long after the doors opened. I was convinced all the bargains would be gone by the time we got in. People were walking out with door panels, windscreens, brake discs and all sorts of other spare parts off the racing cars. Not to mention life size cardboard cut outs of the drivers who were there signing autographs.
The great thing was that the queue went through the workshop. All the assorted machinery that goes into building a race car was a dream to see. I think I chose the wrong career path! Pictured is the car of Craig Lowndes, half stripped down. Check out the size of those brake calipers!
I did well. I found a massive extraction fan in it's own custom made box with wheels for $50. I stood guard over it while I made up my mind to part with my cash. I also bought a broken diff pinion, a genuine piece of race car memorabilia. Not to mention a t-shirt and some stubby holders.
It was well worth the queueing for. When I got home and tested the extraction fan I was quite blown away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.