Appreciation

By Appreciation

Edinburgh Fashion Week

I had high hopes for some photographic opportunities at Edinburgh's Fashion Week Pop Up Hub today.  Having checked out the venue, I realised I was too late to book free tickets.  Ah well, there were unreserved seats available on the day. 

I waited in the queue for one show to finish and the tutorial on dressing for your body shape to begin.  I counted at least 18 people who left their seats yet no-one else was allowed to enter.  The Hub only sat about 60 people - it looked somewhat empty.  Not to worry, I had a prime view from my position near the front of the queue.  Alas, some young girl with a badge of authority decided that the curtains should be closed to the spectating public,  I couldn't imagine why.  When I asked if we could keep them open she said 'No, sorry, it wouldn't be an exclusive event if just everyone could look in'.  There was no point slapping her with a wet floral fabric so I left feeling unexclusive. 

A brass jazz band were playing on the opposite side of the street.  They were open to the public but everyone seemed to be in a hurry.  Such a shame, their energy was infectious and I shimmied my way home to dig out my recorder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.