A sad day.

Sam persuaded me to take him and his pal into the Games Workshop so I clanged and cluncked as I drove my poor broken car with its dangling exhaust (thanks to a pothole at work, that finished my exhaust off) into town to drop them, before I headed to a garage. I so wish I had travelled a different route as we came across such a distressing scene. An anguished soul had, for whatever reasons, made the decision to jump from a building. For the too many of us who have been there, and through the blurriness have pulled back or had others help us back, if only that reason to step back from the point of no return could be bottled and kept to hand for those who need it. My head was swimming with the dispair that surrounded this whole event.

As soon as I saw the police walking with the blue screens I knew what had happened but then realised with horror that the site itself wasn't covered entirley yet. It was too late to drive another way so I tried to distract the boys as the cars had to slow to get past the police. The boys said they were okay, that they had seen but not I hoped as much as I had seen. Im struggling to get the image out of my head. Goodness knows how those that have to deal with the aftermath of such tragedies cope, the police, the bystanders, the families, those that come across such scenes. And those that live nearby.

I got to the destination and spoke with the boys, they wanted to still be dropped off, a distraction was probably a good idea. I headed to drop the car at the garage. A new exhaust turned into £850 pounds worth of emergency repairs but I was too spaced out to haggle. I'm not very good at haggling anyway. Faced with hours of waiting I decided to walk to a weil kent place, from town to the house I grew up in in Bridge of Don. I started to walk and the tears started to come. Then my phone rang. A friend, who stayed on the phone to me all the way as I walked, deliberately distracting me in the best of ways. I'm so grateful for that call. The rain caught me later, soaked to the skin on my return to town to get the car. But I saw Dave drive past with the boys in the back at one point on King Street, and it was a strangely overwhelming feeling to know they had been picked up from their distractions and were safe, warm and heading home.

I caught up with Sam later, getting home many hours later. We headed into the forest and I asked if he was okay. He said at first he hadn't mentioned it since, then slowly, he said he and his friend had been talking about it every so often that day and I was glad they had rather than bottle it up. And they had headed out for a Couple more hours den building too, which is probably the best of medicines.

I heard more news today about why the turn of events may have come to pass, and it was even more heartbreaking than I could imagine. I'm so glad I have a friend that instinctively knew I needed to be called. What can be done to make sure everyone has that kind of friend. So things don't have to escalate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.