Stevens Shots

By StevenC44

A visit to the tower

Hello Blippers! Hope you've been enjoying the weekend!

Well, today's the day that I got to visit the Edinburgh Airport Air Traffic Control tower. It was a really nice man called Bob who organised it for us, and he showed us around the engineering room, which was full of computers and generators.

Then we went next door (still in the ground floor) to a room where there were 2 controllers. One of them happily sat and explained a lot about what the job involves, airspace boundaries, radar etc.

Then, we went up right to the top - it was amazing. The view was breathtaking, and I was allowed to listen to the communications between the Air Traffic Controller ( there was only one, which surprised me) and the Pilots. I took a lot of pictures which looked amazing and, although I shouldn't, I'll put some up over the coming days. All in all, it was an amazing day, and the best part is we got told we could come back again! (although not sure about work experience yet)

Hope you all enjoy the rest of the weekend!

Steven :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.