All that jazz

By frankbrett

(Sort of) photo tour (with dog)

Serin doesn't like loud noises. As the weather was excellent, I decided to take her to Wakerley Woods (10 miles from home) - and also try out the telephoto lens, but as soon as I parked the car two enormous explosions went off from a bird scarer in the next field. 

So, drove a mile to Fineshade Wood. No change for the car park so try to do the 'pay by phone' thing. Fails (won't bore you with the reasons why). Kind person just leaving gives me his ticket (not ethical - but needs must!). Get back to car, get all my gear but Serin refuses to leave the car (can faintly hear sounds of bangs in the distance). Give parking ticket to someone who's just arrived (he offered me money - opportunity to be completely unethical :) ).

Drove 10 miles back to Barnsdale on the North shore of Rutland Water. The car park is not yet open for the Summer season. Parked on road. To my relief Serin jumps out and we spend a pleasant couple of hours more-or-less undisturbed on a gloriously sunny but cool afternoon.

The lens? I think I need to get used to it. A couple of examples in amongst the latest photos on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.