Purple Magpie

By PurpleMagpie

Rotton

I have felt Rotton today. I gave up and chilled out and have done as little as possible.

As I walked out the house for the school run I heard the news that Terry Pratchett has died. He is my favourite author. I have read most of his books and chuckled over his recent radio play of Good Omens.

I sobbed all the way down the road and came home and cried. I am surprised by my reaction. Then again I loved his books. I have read and reread my favourite ones. They have made me think, made me howl and some storylines have stayed with me forever.

Don't think because it was fantasy it was only silly. Yes it was really silly but he tackled massive questions and situations. Most recently he tackled the Industrial Age, along with music, film, football, religion, racism, sexism, slavery and war.

I won't lie I have found his later books a little more difficult to read. Nation which came out just before his diagnosis I found angry and the later discworlds had less of the wit and perception of other ones. However the irony of a man who could create a whole other world and the characters within it to suffer a brain disease was dealt by him so well.

So yes I am sad. Sad enough to cry. I bought this book for my children and the main character in it is Samuel Vimes who is also my favourite character. I have my own little Sam. This makes me smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.