150314: A Coat of Arms

Of course not! ... but I like to think of it as something similar.  This is what is on the cover of my 770-page family tree book on hubby's ancestors.  Besides travel, photography and reading, this is one of my main hobbies, which doesn't mean, however, that I spend every single day and night on it.  Throughout the past 21 years, there have been peaks and troughs, periods of high energy followed by a couple of periods of non-activity.  It started with curiosity, which turned into interest, and then it became a habit which then gradually evolved into an obsession ... and now it's back to curiosity and it's no longer a habit.  I am still quite pleased with the work I've managed to make of it, though.  You'll find copies of it with some 475 blood relatives, even as far away as Canada and Australia, but the Royal Library, Bureau of Genealogy and Brabant Collection here have it, too.  I am currently working on what I intend to be the fifth and best -- and LAST -- edition.

The picture shows a man working on a wagon wheel -- hubby's surname.  You can bet I practiced my Dutch pronunciation so that I could say it.  The illustration comes from a book of Dutch surnames which is, I think, out of print.  We bought the last two copies of it in a kind of antique-books shop.

Hubby and I spent the whole day housekeeping and now we are both tired.  I am especially appreciative of the fact that he cleaned my car.  I don't know if I have energy tonight for comments.  THANK YOU for visiting yesterday!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.