Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Happy St. Patrick's Day!

Dear Diary,

Ireland is my home away from home...the place I feel so connected with despite not having any Irish blood.  I've always felt I was meant to feel this connection because back in the late 1930's my father changed his name from a very Polish sounding one to Sullivan!  His brother did the same although other brothers change theirs to different names, very confusing!

It is unclear why he did this but I grew up with this Irish surname.  I found myself in the hospital on St. Patrick's Day twice in my youth and the nurses tried to lighten my mood by telling me how I had the map of Ireland written on my face!  I didn't have the heart to tell them.  Many, many years later I did finally go to Ireland and I did, in fact, feel right at home.

So, I wish you all "Top 'o the Morning!"  Enjoy the day when we all are Irish in spirit if not blood!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.