Downhill View from the Terrace

And there I stood. Under an already bright sun, trying to keep my balance and to stand as firm as possible. On the steep slope of our hillgarden. Lifting the heavy pickaxe and driving it into the stony earth. I have made a new start with digging a groove. In search for the location where the sewerpipe is following its downhill track towards the street-connection. I am working like that treasure digger or archeologist without a reliable map. So I learn to work patiently and careful. Blind hacking  might damage the object. Removing many burried stones I follow the remnants of a laurel root. Show me where you suck your water I whisper, while sweatdrops fall from my forehead. I know I have to proceed without any urge to reach my goal. I am confident that anyhow the underground pipeline will show up. I am after that Gold...The training exercise is to explore and improve my method gradually. And there is this delicious espresso break with cakes in the lazy chairs. And a shower before lunch. Do you get that during slave labour?

In the afternoon I enjoyed my license to hand out the laundry, lay around in my sun chair. Brooming down and up the driveway. Sunshine being too bright for making photos or reading a book. This starts to feel like being on holliday...Hey, I am feeling satisfied. Most of my repair things are in order again. I do not need any recognition or compliments. There is nothing special to these kind of simple handlings. We will see what is going to come out of this process. You don’t need any form of mastership to accomplish. I am happy to discover here that joy of living. In the end, that is the gold I am digging for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.