jenfisher1

By jenfisher1

#44 Aguas Calientes

About 20 minutes before leaving on our Machu Picchu tour I came to the awkward realisation that none of my cash cards were in my money belt where I always left them. Concluding they'd likely been stolen while we were omelette-making last night (stupidly left my bag unattended) I decided not to panic and thankfully had enough time to cancel them all before getting on the bus.

Soon enough we were at Ollyantambo train station boarding the Machu Picchu train to Aguas Calientes where we would stay the night. We got there mid afternoon and found a woman holding a sign up with our names outside, ready to take us to the hostel our tour company booked us into. Aguas Calientes was a tiny wee town in the mountains, with a river charging down one side and trains making their way through every hour or so. We had some happy hour piscos by the river and then an overpriced pizza at a restaurant nearby. Our guide for tomorrow gave us a quick brief in the hostel that night and we went to bed early in preparation for going to Machu Picchu for its 6am opening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.