Simply Me

By Suze981

A breath of fresh air

My runs recently have all followed the same format. They've been lacking in confidence. They've either been to and from work or a 3-4 mile loop close to my house. That way, if my injuries flared up or something happened I wouldn't be too far away.

I'm off work today (for working on Saturday) and I needed to pick up some packages. The sorting office is 2 miles away - right on the boundary of a loop. I thought I'd run there and back.

I ran there, I picked up my packages, but I didn't turn back. I felt good and I had an urge to go down to the beach at Portobello, so I kept going.

And then I just didn't stop. It was like a breath of fresh air.

I've always been best on the open road - it's the freedom. I ran on to Fisherrow Harbour at Musselburgh - an old favourite running haunt. At five miles, I could feel my right foot starting to tire so I stopped and got a bus home.

Happy happy happy - running by the water is my favourite and that's the longest I've run in a while now.

In other news, I'm meeting my friend Sarah for lunch later. This is shaping up to be a good day off and it's only 8.30am!

Running mileage (15 March - 15 March)
Today's run: 5 miles
Total mileage: 12 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.