Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Mount Lothian

Sunday morning ride was one of my favourite rides. I had a Strava challenge, do at least 100km in one ride. I was also near the end of another one which involved 4096m worth of climbing. So I headed out to West Linton. I did think should carry on to Broughton, but the wind was increasing. I decided to use to my advantage. So I headed to Romannobridge, Peebles and Innerleithen.

There were loads of cyclists out, unfortunately stuck at road works traffic lights along the A72 to Peebles. I managed to time it pretty well, and only had to stop once. I took the back road through Traquair to Innerleithen, Then I took the Granites road, the B709 and B7007. These roads form part of National Cycle Route 1, to head back to Midlothian. With the wind behind me, the climb was quite fast, and the descents a bit of fun.

The ride west to Gladhouse and Mount Lothian from Middleton was a little challenging. The wind was ok, but the gusts of wind hanging on in a couple of places. the road around Gladhouse Reservoir wasn't as bad expected. At Mount Lothian I decided to stop and take at least one picture of my morning's ride, as well as finish off my energy bar. At least when I reached the Auchendinny road I knew, apart from the climb up Auchendinny Brae, the ride home would be pretty fast.

I got home a bit later than I expected too, which elicited the response "Where the hell have you been?", the route has been uploaded to Strava, and "You could have been in a ditch somewhere".

After a ride like that, the afternoon was spent chillaxing down at Edinburgh's West End. Of course there was coffee and cake. I paid of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.