Footprints in Photos

By AnnaSpanner

Doing puzzles with Bill

This is E doing puzzles with Bill. Bill is my grandad but everyone calls him Bill, even his children. It's just Nan and Bill, always has been. Never really thought that seemed unusual until just now.

It was an impromptu visit to my Grandparents, but turned out many of us had the same idea and some of my aunties and uncles were there. E did the puzzle with Bill, M wrote in Bills diary (because he allows guest posts when he has visitors) -and L ate 3 packs of biscuits.

Bill is still a keen photography and it was his interest in taking pics that I think inspired me to get a camera and have a go when I was really young.

He showed us a letter his daughter Ange had written while her mum was I hospital having Jill. My mum is one of 5 so she came along much later. Ange was only 5 when she wrote the letter but it is beautifully written and perfectly laid out on the page without any spelling mistakes. It went something along the lines of

"To mummy. Don't worry, I am looking after Daddy while you are away and keeping him warm by sleeping next to him at night so he doesn't get lonely. I can see Jenny sleeping in the cot next to us. Hope you are home with Jill soon, love Ange". And then there was a little picture of them all sleeping. Very charming. Ange died of Lupus when she was in her 40s so it seems shocking to see things from her when she's been gone so long. I know it brings Nan and Bill a lot of comfort to have these things so I can only imagine how they felt when they found the letter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.