jillington

By jillington

Quilt

My dad's favorite aunt was Aunt Eva, a fifth grade teacher for her whole career. As a result, I don't think she like kids very much. I'm pretty sure she could have done without my brothers and me but she was crazy for my dad and he for her. They were kindred souls, both "collectors". (Aunt Eva had every nut cup she had ever received, at parties of all sorts, stacked to the ceiling in the bedroom in which I slept when we went to her home in southern Illinois. I had to climb over "stuff" to reach the bed.) When I got into the attic of the garage at my folks', I found this beautiful quilt carefully wrapped and labelled, "Aunt Eva's quilt". No date or any other information. My dad thought precious things should be carefully preserved so nothing happens to them. I know now what a mistake that was. So, I'm using this beautiful quilt on the guest bed so whoever sleeps there can enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.