Inside Byron Lighthouse...A Virgin Tour

After dropping a couple of prints off to the Byron Art Classic we found Zom...(my friend) and we all decided to head up to the Lighthouse.
I have lived in this area for about 25 years (give or take) and have never been to the top of the Lighthouse......so I put on my tourist hat and climbed those stairs. I have to say that if you are ever in the area it really is a must 'TO DO' bucket list thingy........ the view from the top is just so very very fabulous ..everywhere I looked it took my breath away.....(oh and stop by for a cuppa with me Jaiya...Flynn and Rumi). I did get a most fabulous Pano looking all the way to Lennox..spilling across Wategos and the Beach across to the hinterland then up the coast to where I live...but.......so rare and such a treat to get a pic inside.
Something really interesting though....we were told that the light has to keep turning even in the day as Bush Fires were starting in the Hinterland in the same place .....it took a while for them to work it out that the still light worked as a magnifying glass and it was that that started the fires. Because it is built on sacred Aboriginal land there are some wild Dreamtime stories about a god who lives under the rocks in a cave...which I will look into a bit deeper at a later date. Pity I can only post one pic a day.

“The caterpillar does all the work, but the butterfly gets all the publicity.”

George Carlin 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.