Satisfaction!

You see before you the face of a very happy and satisfied man. I completed the Yodogawa Ultramarathon today running seventy kilometers in about eight hours and forty five minutes. That is a little faster than I predicted. I was expecting a little over nine hours. I knew I was doing well when I reached the forty-two kilometer point with a time equal to my fastest marathon time; four hours twenty-seven minutes. I had told myself that I would allow myself to walk from the fifty to the sixty kilometer point but, as it happened, I didn't need to. However, although I was feeling great up to the fifty kilometer point, after that my legs and neck started to cramp. Still, I managed to walk and run intermittently between fifty kilometers and the end, and I reckon I walked about eight kilometers in total. I was pleased that I was able to run the last three kilometers and look strong crossing the finish line.

I had told myself that next year I will try the one hundred kilometer ultramarathon here but, considering how the pain kicked in at fifty kilometers, the thought of running that twice would completely demoralise me, I'm sure, and I doubt I would finish (unless I become a much stronger running between now and next year.)

Anyway, now it is official; I am an ultramarathon runner. Man it feels good to be able to say that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.