GadgetGal

By GadgetGal

Solar eclipse

I know this is probably not the best picture of the solar eclipse, but it means a lot to me. I had no eclipse glasses as I hadn't realised it was happening until the day. The sky was completely overcast at the start but I decided to go outside just in case, in memory of my Mother.

Just as the eclipse was happening the clouds parted enough for me to see it but not enough to risk damage to my eyes. I was thrilled to have enough time to go and get my Canon EOS camera and take photos with my long lens as well as with my phone.

My mother loved eclipses and comets and any astronomical events. I remember watching an eclipse with her when I was a young child. In the 1999 full eclipse, I watched the eerie event in my garden with my own two children, all of us talking the whole while to my Mother as she watched it in Somerset. Sadly she died the following year, so eclipses are always times when I remember my Mother and wish she were still here to enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.