Purple Magpie

By PurpleMagpie

Imagine!

I am volunteering at my son and daughters school all week doing music at their theme week.

Their theme is films so I taught KS2 an acapella version of Saturday night at the movies.

Today was KS1. Their film is toy story so I chose "you got a friend in me" then I messed with the arrangement. I played it on the uke, they sang along with me. Then the exciting bit came. I had two children at a time accompanying me on these Ukes while we sang. The other children had percussion instruments which were used in the instrumental bit I had slotted in.

I could not take photos cos of all the red tape so this is when I need you to use your imagination.

Lots of children aged between 4-6 allowed to hold the first musical instrument some of them have probably ever held. Then they can strum it to their hearts content along with the class watching and singing along. Bjg huge smiles does not cover it.

To be fair it was not particularly tuneful and the percussion instrumental was a free for all with reception but much fun was had by all.

Joyous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.