For the last couple of mornings a cheeky starling has landed on the bird table as I put out the food. This morning I took a camera and lo and behold the cheeky starling turned up again. This starling knows that if he/she doesn't get in early the larger birds will swoop and take charge and leave very little. A brave and smart starling. I wonder whether this is the same starling I had a conversation with the other day. He/she was sitting on a branch looking at me so I said hello. I swear that starling said hello back. So I said it again and once again I got a hello back. Then I made a couple of noises and a whistle and the starling made similar noises and a whistle. Starlings are well known for their powers of mimicry so we seemed to have some sort of communication. This exchange went on for about five minutes till I moved and off the starling flew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.