Angie B

By purplenuckin

Poor Angus

We are calling him 'E.T.' at the moment!

Took him to the vets yesterday as I was concerned about his weight loss. He used to be such a big, heavy lump and when I picked him up the other day I couldn't believe how light he felt. Has never felt that light and seems more 'bony'.

So, the vet weighed him and apparently he is a kilo HEAVIER than when he last went to the vet a few years ago. I do not believe this. While we were there I asked about his neck as I noticed it was red and sore - possibly caused by allergy to the flea collar, which I had removed since I noticed the soreness. So she shaved the area, bless him, and gave him antibiotics.

He also has a slight heart murmur which scared me when the vet mentioned it but she said that it is only slight and animals can live with it for years without it getting worse. Will take him back in a year to check, unless I see any signs of it getting worse before then.

My concern is not letting him wear a collar for a while. I have 2 cats and a magnetic cat flap. You see my dilemma? If he has no magnet on then he cannot get back in if he goes out. Which means I will probably get woken up at 3am by the cat making a racket trying to get through the cat flap. he doesn't go out that much, is more of an indoor cat. So am hoping that he will not be going out at night for the next week or so...I can dream!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.