Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

More family.

Uncle Doug.
He's 97 and has only just relinquished his driving licence ... Why ? Because he knows he's raised a couple of curbs recently and thought it right to stop while the goings good.

So many times I have driven past his house and thought that I really should call in!
Today I did, we had a lovely hour chatting - me learning lots! I also managed to get some pruning done for him, he has always been a very exact gardener so I hope I did it to his precise spec!

I often look at the posters put out by Help the Aged and think I could give someone some time each week and then I remember what Uncle Doug said when I last called in -three months ago!- about how the days have 24hours in them but his feel more like 30. I reckon I should be giving my own oldie some time.

He spoke of loosing his independence due to not driving, he has always done his own shopping, and how will he get to the doctors if he should need to? He also spoke of death and how he would like to go like his brother Ted - my Dad- nice and quick, then he told me about his aneurism and that if that goes he'll not know much ...!

I came away full of admiration ... Love that man. The last Cook of his generation.

I'm seeing a Sunday lunch at Middleton on the Wolds coming up soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.