Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Hagerstown

Hagerstown, Maryland is an interesting town with a strong connection to our Civil War and an impressive public library. I enjoyed my short visit with an old friend and I had the chance to see a little of the downtown area.


The Battle of Antietam took place about 10 miles south of here on September 17, 1862 and, as Wiki states, "was the first major battle in the American Civil War to take place on Union soil. It is the bloodiest single-day battle in American history, with a combined tally of dead, wounded, and missing at 22,717."


At the top of this picture there is a "ghost sign" on the red bricks.  My friend remembers shopping at Eyerly's Department Store with her Mom when she was a kid.


I'll head home today, but I intend to return to Hagerstown some time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.