momcat1

By momcat1

Signs of spring!

Finally... robins. They have actually been hanging around for a week now, but have been most uncooperatively camera shy. This was one of three looking for worms in the front yard today and I was able to sneak up on them. I find myself saying about chickadees , and herons and a lot of other birds "these are my favorite bird" , but in reality : it's the robin. How many people do you know when they see their first robin in spring yell "robins! robins robins robins!!!" Embarrassingly enough , I do. I love their voices , I love watching them as  they stalk around the yard looking for worms, and I love the fact that when they show up you have 1 more snowstorm and then that is it. Better than the weather guys.But tonight brought another treasured staple of springtime: the sound of peep toads. We got out of the car tonight after church and heard the first ones of spring and I must say I am impressed. We have had exactly 2 days of warm weather and they are out. Just goes to show you the humans aren't the only creatures that had had enough of winter this year and are thrilled that spring seems to be finally here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.