Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Jorge Semprum

Reading his today, the last volume Semprun wrote in2010 when 87 years of age. Like the french paper Le nouvelle observateur, noted it's not a testament of an old man but a clear young voice. 
And it's to be heared! 'Excercise in Survival' this booklet is named... he'd wanted to write 2 more volumes on this theme but death called him before. He's written more books in his lifetime and they too impress me time and again ~ an indispensible writer!
over 15 years ago when I followed interviews with him he impressed me with his mind and I read all of his books since. This book I found the other week when strolling thro'  Haarlem coz of the powercut ~ shops had just opened their doors again when power returned after 2 o'clock and I asked if they had a Jorge Semprun.. yes 1, this one!! Super!
The same happened in Munich the other week when I was there to visit my kids half brother's mum. I walked in twice in a bookshop when having to change the underground there and before stepping on to the other line I went upstairs to see where I was and found a bookshop on both occasions... do you sell Jorge Semprun, Primo Levi (another indispensible author). One volume of Semprun each had 'The big journey' and 'Twenty years and one day'... Super!! Gifts for my kids half brother! Delighted I was and am as I could hand him the words / thoughts and stories of this man. Read him if you're curious!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.