Wearing purple...

By 60plus

Mono Monday : Earth

This challenge sent me to look at my trusty Reader's Digest Great World Atlas, which was bought for me in 1968 when I was at school. Looking at it now, it makes me realise how out of date it is - and how I would look at the Internet for information like this now, rather than the books and encyclopaedias I had then!
The foreword is also suitably old-fashioned:
"From the centre of the Earth to the outermost limits of space...
Paradise is somewhere in the far East, Jerusalem is the centre of all nations and countries, and the world itself is a flat disk surrounded by oceans of water. So the monks, map makers of the Middle Ages, saw the earth..."  
From the vantage point of the technology of 2015, 1968 feels positively mediaeval... I think we were still using ink pens with dip-in nibs...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.