BoroLady69

By BoroLady69

Osprey hovering for its dinner...

I had another walk in Myers Park early evening yesterday, 6th, and heard two fishermen pointing and saying "Look up, what is it."  I got my camera focused on it and realized it was my first sighting  this year of an adult Osprey.  It looked huge as it kept hovering over Salmon Creek Inlet just before the inlet spilled into Cayuga Lake.  There are 2 Osprey stands on the other side of the creek but I hadn't seen anything on the nest stands.  I went to a Steve Kress lecture last night on The Puffin Project, and the President of the Cayuga Bird Club who was there confirmed the identification of my photo for me and said he had seen a pair of Osprey at the same place last Saturday.  He said the male had caught a huge fish and was struggling against the strong wind to carry the fish away.  I know my pics aren't as sharp as I would have liked, but I had a hard time keeping my balance as well as my camera on this big bird hovering over my head.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.