Betty Lou's Downtown Emporium

There are many things I'd rather do than shop for clothes, which is obvious with one look at what's hanging in my closet---clothes in mostly dark tones and solid colors, simple styles that work with carry-on-luggage-only travel and life as a retiree in the City of Subdued Excitement.

However, with several USA trips coming up this year, I wanted something to add to my usual "look"---something simple, bright, lightweight, versatile, easy-care, comfortable, and ideally, purchased from a local, independent retailer.

I knew that Betty Lou's Downtown Emporium, in the heart of downtown Bellingham, was the likeliest spot to carry such garments, and I found just the thing today---an open, lightweight rayon jacket in blues, greens, and black, which will go with almost all of those solids in my wardrobe. (It's the same style, but a different pattern, as the one shown in the March 23 entry in the link above.)

Betty Lou was fine with me taking photos, and as I had fallen in love with the large dressing room near mine---eclectic, whimsical, imaginative, and eye-catching---it had to be my blip today. 

Here's one small area of the store, to give you a sense of what it's like. I remember televisions like that one, and I like the reuse of old bedsprings to display some of the wares. And I loved the background music, which included this brilliant hit from 1977, one of my all-time favorites. Turn up your speakers, and rock on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.