Woodleywise

By woodleywise

Justice for the Milton Keynes One

I have a police record. It arose thus.
 
We had a one-day strike at the University some years ago over pay. It fell on Shrove Tuesday so I decided to set up a temporary kitchen to provide pancakes for my colleagues on the picket line. I almost made two placards to stand by my roadside stall. One said “There is a crêpe offer on the table” and the other “ Say no the UCEA tossers!” (UCEA = Universities and Colleges Employers Association).
 
All was going well until a policeman pulled up in his car. After a long conversation on his radio, he came across and told me that he was giving me a formal caution under the Public Order Act and that if I did not take down the “Tosser” placard he would arrest me.
 
I am sure you are all familiar with Section 5(1) of the act that says:
"(1) A person is guilty of an offence if he:
(a) uses threatening [or abusive] words or behaviour, or disorderly behaviour, or
(b) displays any writing, sign or other visible representation which is threatening [or abusive], within the hearing or sight of a person likely to be caused harassment, alarm or distress thereby."
 
I thought at first that if we passed the placard around the picket members, using the “No, I am Spartacus” strategy, we might at least confuse the policeman. But nobody was up for it so I just meekly took down the placard.
 

Then nothing. For years. Until I saw this ant-litter  ad on a petrol pump in my local garage. If my council can use the term “tosser” with impunity, why not me? I demand a Royal Pardon! (Please feel free to organize a petition)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.