Hot'nCool

By helen221

Still life or still death?

I spent this morning on a private visit to the Grant Museum of Zoology as part of a photography Meetup.  Flippin' heck it was exhausting. I did learn some stuff though, as much as anything by being kept in a confined space for 2+ hours with lots of interesting things to photograph. 
These guys/apes were looking on from above.

The challenges of low light (no flash allowed) and reflections were interesting to deal with - I had a polarising filter on my CSC camera, but not on my DSLR. My biggest issue seemed to be focussing but that was exascerbated by needing the aperture open as wide as it could go. Anyway, maybe a trip to opticians is needed. I will go back and try again with various subjects on another occasion - the 18 moles in a jar especially. The closer you got the more disturbing somehow their paws were.

I did use both cameras on fully manual options instead of P so that is progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.