LuvU2

By LuvU2

Very Old Archer Barbers Chair

We took the 3 hour steam train trip with Anrie's family, to celebrate her grand mom’s birthday, from Hermanstad Station on the outskirts of Pretoria, to Cullinan a small town 30km or 19miles east of Pretoria, South Africa. This historical little town is named after the diamond magnate Sir Thomas Cullinan, the founder of the Premier Diamond Mining Company where Frederick George Stanley Wells, surface manager of  the mining company discovered the infamous Cullinan Diamond on 25 June 1905, the largest diamond in the world at 3,106 carats (621.2g), which was bought by the Transvaal Government and presented to King Edward VII. 
 

My blip for tonight is of a chair we saw in one of the antique shops at the Cullinan Station. Eish, I would love to find it on the internet, I see ones very close to this one, but not exactly the same, I would like to know when it was made!? I discovered that antique barbers chairs are very popular and the prices I saw are mindblowing!


'One Year Ago' -  80th Birthday Celebration ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.