Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Serendipity

Yesterday during our multi-errand jaunt around town, I was parked on the street waiting for Cynthia to pick up a prescription for a friend when I noticed a sign for a business called Time Concepts. Among the services offered was changing watch batteries.
I didn't need watch batteries, but I desperately needed a new strap for my cheap Timex watch before it fell off my wrist. I'd been trying to replace the strap for months, but hadn't been able to find one that fit, so I decided to give Time Concepts a try.

C and I entered the small, nondescript building and were surprised to find an impressive selection of clocks, including grandfather clocks and intricately carved cuckoo clocks. The proprietor, Nelu Gheorghita, is a Romanian watchmaker who came to the USA at the age of 37.

Nelu didn't have a strap to fit my watch, but said he could modify one for an additional charge of $2. I was very happy to accept his offer, and since I wasn't in a hurry, I left the watch there and went back to pick it up today. Nelu had my watch ready with the new strap, and had polished the crystal to remove several scratches.

We chatted and I took my photos while he replaced the batteries in C's watch. When it was time to pay, he kindly waived the charge for modifying my strap and polishing my crystal. It was a very enjoyable experience meeting Nelu, and I will be returning whenever I need any watch and clock batteries or repairs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.