What a lovely day:-

By BKeeper

to Visit my 2X Grand Parents

This is the interior of Cartwright Hall Art Gallery in Bradford.

I went there to see a couple of portraits of my great great grand-parents, Amos and Ann Raistrick.  They lived at Idle, near Bradford in late Victorian times.

The portraits that you see were presented to the gallery in 1974 by a relative.  I do not suppose they have ever been on public view.  The purpose of the visit was to see if there were any clues as to who might have painted them.

Unfortunately the portraits have been altered in shape from their original rectangular construction and any artists signature has been lost.

I have a few ideas as to who may have painted them and I am still looking for evidence.

The lady standing in the background  is Jill the curator who was most helpful. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.