The Other Half . . .

. . . or the top 0.1% of Egyptian society have the wherewithall and desire to gather in places like this, the terrace of the Marriot Hotel, Cairo. I'm drawn between a feel good factor as I walk in - statistically speaking I'm in that tiny percentage of privileged people in Egypt today - and a sense of envy that comes from me not actually being in the class of the super rich and unable to spend on a whim. This latter feeling is like the temptation of the devil . . . no good and certainly no happiness or fulfilment would come from it. If I had the kind of money to buy an optioned-up Mercedes S Class and a Phillipe Patek watch better to spend it on putting some youngsters (and it would be many!) through school . . . or at least half of it. Who said that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.