Year Three

By RobotChicken

Wheel is coming off......

Trying to decide what to do with this trailer. Decided to get the old rusty wheel off with the grinder. Essentially two nuts have become extremely corroded onto the studs and there is no moving them with anything. Drastic measures needed - grind off two studs. Wheel came off after about 10 minutes.

It's a 5x8 utility trailer, and now it's stripped down, it's actually in  good shape. The rust is surface rust for the most part, and a wire wheel on a drill would sort all of it, then a rust treatment, and then repainting to black again.

I really don't want to scrap it as I'll get maybe $40 for it. And I'm not hell bent on just giving it away for $100. But then I have no use for it right now either.

Just seems like a real waste to bin it. And I don't have time to 'restore' it, although frankly that wouldn't take much.

Missing two studs could be a problem. Not sure how to fix that....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.