Ford Plymouth

This weekend was Frome's First Vintage Weekend at the Cheese & Grain (which is where we went to see Renaissance on Friday night). Today there was a classic car display, and I fell for this gorgeous Ford Plymouth.

I learnt to drive on a green A35 that was called Esmerelda, and I passed my test in a 1961 Ford Pop 100E that was only 3 years younger than I was! We finally got rid of the Pop when the garage asked (begged?) us not to take it back for any more MoTs - it was rather a headache to keep on the road because of the difficulty of getting spares. When you have 2 children under 3 and just the one family car, reliability becomes crucial.

I got £100 for the car, and £220 for the registration! (SDO 660)

The Pop's replacement had 4 gears and windscreen wipers that didn't stop when you went uphill - who'd have thought that a Yugo could ever have been seen as the height of luxury!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.