SightSinging

By SightSinging

Anzac Day , 100 years on from Gallipoli

Tomorrow is Anzac Day when New Zealanders and Australians remember those who served in the armed services initially at Gallipoli in World War I and now those who served in both World Wars and subsequent conflicts.
Tomorrow thousands will attend dawn services at Gallipoli and all over New Zealand and Australia , many younger people proudly wearing the medals of their parents , grandparents and great grandparents.
Anzac Day is marked with reverence in a country where emotional public rituals are rare.
My grandfather served (and survived) at Gallipoli. My parents , seen here, served in the Royal New Zealand Air Force; my mother at home in New Zealand and my father in the Solomon Islands , servicing aircraft as part of the ground crew.
Tomorrow I will sow red poppies in the hope that they will bloom by Remembrance Day in November.
http://rnzaf.proboards.com/thread/21254/rnzaf-air-strikes-bougainville

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.