Total Failure ...

Friday 24th April 2015 (972)

... that's a description of me today! 

After a morning of work I drove to Blackpool to meet Carrie as she had agreed to come and be a "spotter" for me on my first open water swim. In January I accepted Beewriter's challenge to join her in the Manchester Open Water Swim. I signed up and paid my fee. I bought a wetsuit. I've been swimming and can easily swim a mile in the swimming pool. Today was the day to try the wetsuit for the first time. I anticipated that swimming would be a bit harder but I've always been a strong swimmer ...

... you wouldn't have believed that today! I couldn't swim at all with the wetsuit on, it's buoyancy threw me completely and the cold water meant I couldn't breathe - result was that I could barely swim at all. I persevered but all I did was make myself tired, progress was slow and almost non existent.  

I'm not one to give up, I am usually fairly determined and will rise to a challenge but now I feel totally demoralised. With only two months to go I don't think I can do it. I think I quit   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.