Before

The day went to pot!

It was a nice sunny morning on Thurlton Marsh, though nothing of note was 'visibly' stirring, lots of birdsong and heaps of peacock butterflies, but no sign of the elusive harrier.

I was still day-dreaming as we approached the end of the lane, as i went to put Tess back on her lead, she bolted to the gate of the house at the end and was set upon by the dog which lived there, through the gate. The greyhound had her by the muzzle and I ran to extricate her whereby the greyhound sank its teeth into her flank. lots of squealing. In the melee I was bitten on both wrists and ended up on my back in the lane with a panting Tess in my arms. The greyhounds owners appeared and roundly abused me, it was my fault after all and for good measure telling me I had no right to be on the lane anyway {It is marked as public access on the latest OS Map}. When I asked him if he would pay my vet bill he offered me a kick somewhere unpleasant.
At home I could find no puncture wounds on the dog, but I was bleeding  from wound in both wrists, superficial but sore. So Off I went to the Doctor where a lovely Nurse Practitioner called Eileen gave me a shot and some antibiotics.

This morning I have ' Gastrointestinal side-effects' and the dog has gone off to the vets for a check up since she seemed to have discomfort on her shoulder and was trembling fit to bust. Curiously, it didn't stop her chasing a squirrel down the garden when I opened the door?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.