A photo for everyday

By GinaG73

Fundraising

To get a place in the London marathon I got a charity place, running for a local charity called the Brathay Trust. The trust works with young disadvantaged children. They do such amazing work. Not only it is local but strikes a chord as my stepsons have been very lucky unlike the children the trust helps.
To qualify for the place I had to undertake a fundraising challenge of £1500. People have been so unbelievably generous in supporting me. I increased my target as after a conversation with Scott from Brathay, I asked what does the fundraising mean? He said if I raised £3000 that would mean 8-10 disadvantaged children could come to the lakes for a 2 day residential. The benefit to these kids is immeasurable. So new challenge set and with the generosity of people meant it was smashed.
Not only am I proud of my marathon bling but also of this money which will make a difference. So yes my legs are hurting and I've started with girl flu but it's all worth it.
http://www.brathay.org.uk/
http://www.brathay.org.uk/video/new-beginnings/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.