Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

A Flash of White Rump

Worked from home today and took a break around 4 pm to take my car into the garage for some paintwork protection so I have a courtesy car for the next 24 hours.

Called in at the nature reserve on the way back home. I only had a lightweight jacket - it was bitterly cold and I had the hide all to myself. I didn't want to hang around.

A couple of bullfinches and a chaffinch obligingly posed for blips. The one pictured was an intense shade of red. 

According to the RSPB website  a "flash of white rump" is one of the  identifying features of the bullfinch.

Interestingly, there's a naturist club a few hundred yards away from the nature reserve. I don't imagine that there was much white rump flashing there on this cold April day!

More working at home this evening. Eventually finished at 8 pm and had a Thai take away with Harriet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.