all this useless beauty

By jasonjklewis

June Tabor - review

The audience in Wolverhampton’s intimate Arena Theatre falls silent.

Two thirds of Quercus (Pianist Huw Warren and Saxophonist Ian Ballamy) have exited the stage leaving June Tabor alone at the microphone.  She mentions that today marks the centenary of the start of the battle of Gallipoli and then proceeds to sing the haunting and harrowing ’And the band played Waltzing Matilda'. – a soldiers traumatic personal account of the battle.  It is a tragic song that grows sadder with each verse.  I look around and the rest of the audience appear overwhelmed by the emotion of the song.  Some, including me, are wiping away tears.  It’s a profound moment. 

It’s already been a quietly emotional show, as well as songs from the gorgeous Quercus album (which is more jazz than folk if you’re searching for it), there had been a tender version of the standard How Insensitive and a poignant  reinterpretation of Dylan's Don't think twice, it's alright'.    Finally, to end the show, is the beautifully sad ‘All that I ask of you’, which speaks of how love lives on after we've ceased to be.   It’s one of the most moving songs I’ve ever heard and yes, I think there’s something in my eye again…

I’ve been to hundreds (and hundreds) of live gigs and this stands way above the rest.   I’ve never known another singer who can interpret a song and then deliver it (never over or under cooked), in such a raw and affecting way.   This is music that  enfolds you and involves you emotionally like a favourite book or film. 

So, unlike all of the other live shows that I've taken photo’s at,  today’s blip is not of the action on stage  but of  the front cover of June Tabor’s ‘Ashore’ album, which she signed after the show. It’s my favourite album, but, really, that a story for another day….  j

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.