Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Major Events

Along with several thousand of her friends, this bee was bused in by a local farmer wanting to ensure adequate pollination of his field. The hives are maintained by a beekeeper in a neighboring town and are rented out to farmers each spring.  Pollination is a major event in the agricultural process and one I'm very thankful for. 

Twenty four years ago on this day, my father unexpectedly died from a heart attack.  A different type of event, but certainly a major one for my family.  I'd been searching for a photo today that would somehow serve as a tribute to Dad's life and work and wasn't thinking much about the bee at the time.  While it could easily represent his life's work as a farmer, the hard work he did day in and day out, it could also represent the sting of sudden loss, I suppose.  So, in the end it was the bee I chose.  I smile, recalling the scene as I tried to capture the  photo - nearly being stung many times as I inched closer and closer to the clover to get a shot.  Dad would have been amused at the sight.  What I would give to hear his laughter all these years later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.