incidental music

By incidentalmusic

Busy in Bath at the moment - all sorts of Jubilee related shenanigans, punks turning up in town for the cancelled "Last Jubilee" festival and deciding to party anyway, the four day Bank Holiday, and the annual Bath Festival, which I was busy with this afternoon.

I went to an event celebrating the short life and career of David Munrow, who was the guy who blew the dust off (if you'll excuse the cliche) the arcane 'early music' scene, and put some fun and soul into it. I've heard him compared to Jimi Hendrix, but I'm sure that's down to his untimely death. He was a fabulous communicator (as you might be able to see in the link above). I enjoyed the story of his sneaking the c-word into a children's radio broadcast - shades of the Jeremy Hunt game being played by James Naughtie and Radio 4 colleagues recently!

This, by the way, I took during the interval - a very quick and dirty mobile shot of the fantastic second hand shop Jack & Benny's on Walcot Street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.