Simply Me

By Suze981

Outlander

Not one to be deterred by a little bit of rain today, I stuck to my plans for the day. I'm on holiday damn it and I won't stay indoors!

So I drove to Doune today (just outside Stirling) to visit Doune Castle. Built in the 14th Century by Robert Stewart, Duke of Albany and Governor of Scotland, it is one of the best preserved medieval castles in Scotland. It's still a ruin, but it's a bloody good one.

I have a wee shortlist of things to do the next couple of days and I'll be honest, Doune Castle wasn't one of them. Dunfermline Palace was though and as I was on the Historic Scotland website, I stumbled across Doune Castle.

Those of you who watch Outlander will recognise this place - except on there it's not Doune Castle, it's Castle Leoch. I hear it's been rather popular with tourists because of this lately! I'm definitely a fan of the show - look it up if you've not seen it!

It was also the site of Monty Python and the Holy Grail and it was a nice surprise that Terry Jones was on the audio descriptor to tell me all about the place.

It was really quiet today so it was wonderful to have a wee explore on my own. As I was taking this shot from the nearby trees though 2 busses full of people pulled up. Thankfully I was just leaving!

In other news, I also saw the new Spooks film this morning - an advance preview. I have to say, I thoroughly enjoyed it. If you liked Spooks the TV series, you'll enjoy it!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.